Broken and Done

I trudge along the trampled path, beaten and broken
Hurt, crushed, ripped apart, I wander alone
I keep my pace but stagger on, unsure, uncaring
The world ceases to excite me, for I am made of stone.
I have been caught by the ruthless creature, one of the mind.
With cunning ease, strategic planning, it caught me by stealth.
It looked at me, piercing light, to all but my own thoughts I’m blind
For I have stared into the malicious eyes of a creature of death…

Boredom is its name, it smites its victims by scores,
And enjoys our pain as we slowly burn ourselves to ash,
It confounds my brain, drains my heart, squeezes out my soul
Takes away the remains of bone and throws it in the trash.

It makes the world seem worthless, for we have nothing to do anymore
We forget the taste of freedom and rot away in living hell
It destroys our essence, feasts on our bright-eyed curious cores,
It is the Devil itself, taunting us, forever ringing our knell.
Is it this beast that transforms good men, turns them forever bad?
Is it this madness that makes them drink, then rape their kin?
Murder people, destroy the earth- is it because their insanely sad?
Manipulated and ravaged by this demon of pure sin.

It makes me rage, burn with tears, yet I keep on my toes
For, quite near now, I hear its creep laughter ring
I am broken, fearful, terrified, yet I swallow down my woes,
Nothing to do, I rush straight into the mouth of the evil king.

Leave a Reply

